Decorate your own soul

My Dad sent me this a while ago. Not sure where he got it from but I love the imagery and simplicity of it all.  

Learning

After a while you learn the subtle difference

Between holding a hand and chaining a soul,

And you learn that love doesn’t mean leaning

And company doesn’t mean security.

And you begin to learn that kisses aren’t contracts

And presents aren’t promises –

And you begin to accept your  defeats

With your head up and your eyes open

And with the grace of an adult, not the

Grief of a child

And you learn to build your own roads today

Because tomorrow’s ground is too uncertain

For your plans

After a while you learn that even sunshine

Burns if you get too much

So you plant your own garden and decorate

Your own soul – instead of waiting for

Someone to bring you  flowers,

And you learn  that you really can endure,

That you really are special,

And that you really do have a worth,

So live to learn and know yourself,

In doing so you will learn to live.

2 Responses to “Decorate your own soul”

  1. Lynn Says:

    My dad sent me this too! Put on my blog today.

  2. missprofe Says:

    This is so powerful! Nurturing oneself.

    I left teaching for the first time way back in 1989, when I wasn’t sure I wanted to continue. The reason? Nobody was nurturing me, encouraging me. Then my father told me, way back then when I was 24 years old, that I need to be the source of my own encouragement. The poem reminded me of my father’s words from so many years ago.

Leave a Reply

